Begijnhof, Amsterdam The Begijnhof is an enclosed courtyard dating from the early 14th century. Nothing survived of the earliest dwellings, but the Begijnhof, which is cut off from Amsterdam's traffic noice, still retains a sanctified atmosphere. The Begijnhof was originally built as a sactuary for the Begijntjes, a Catholic sisterhood who lived like nuns, although they took no monastic vows. The beautiful houses overlook its well-kept green garden, include the Amsterdam's oldest surviving house Het Houten Huis dating from around 1420. On the adjoining walls, there is a fascinating collection of wall plaques with biblical theme. Southern fringe of the square is dominated by the Engelse Kerk (English Church) which dates from the 15 century and possesses its original medieval tower. Houses in Begijnhof are still occupied by single women, so please respect their privacy and be quiet.turkeyarena.com The Begijnhof Chapel (No. 29 and 30), a clandestine church, was completed in 1680. It contains many reminders of the Catholic past. The Begijnhof history It is unclear when exactly the Begijnhof was established. According a document the Beguines lived in 1346 in a house called "Beghynhuys". Later, in 1389, in a privileged letter there is mention of a courtyard. Nowadays Begijnhof is one of Amsterdam's top 10 attractions. Is open daily 9.00-13.00.